Do You Need Help?



Step into a Healthy Tomorrow with CHPRBN!

The Community Health Practitioners Board of Nigeria (CHPRBN) was established by Decree 61 of 1992 and now in CAP C19, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

The Decree was signed by the former President of Nigeria, General I.B. Babangida on 24th of November 1992. Although the legal instrument establishing the Board had been in existence since 1992, the Board was constituted and inaugurated in December 2000.

The establishment of the Board was informed by the need to regulate Community Health Practice, which was consequent upon creation of a group of Health Practitioners – Community Health Officers, Community Health Extension Workers and Junior Community Health Extension Workers, whose training started in 1978. These cadres are trained in Colleges/Schools of Health Technology and University Teaching Hospitals across Nigeria. Currently, there are 161 CHPRBN-accredited Colleges/Schools of Health Technology and 16 University Teaching Hospitals (for Community Health Officers’ training) in Nigeria.

These health professionals were to serve in hitherto under-served and rural communities where the Federal Government constructed Basic Health Clinics, Primary Health Centers and Comprehensive Health Centers.

From inception of the training programme to date, over two hundred thousand (200,000) Community Health Practitioners have been trained and they provide Primary Health Care services across the country.

Before the inauguration of the Board, the Basic Health Services Scheme Coordinating Unit and Training and Manpower Development Division, both of the Federal Ministry of Health had at one time or the other performed both the training and regulatory functions of the Board.

The present Governing Board is composed of eleven (11) members with Mr Sule Galadima Toma as Chairman and Alhaji Bashir Idris as Registrar and Chief Executive.

The Board’s Secretariat has five (5) Departments: Administration and Finance; Education, Development and Standards; Registration and Licensing; and Inspectorate/Accreditation of Institutions.

Presently, the Board has its Head Office at Plot 379, EFAB Estate Road, Gwarinpa I, by Polaris Bank, Jabi District, Abuja, FCT. There are six (6) Zonal Offices at Kano (North West), Ilorin (North Central), Maiduguri (North East), Akure (South West), Umuahia (South East) and Port Harcourt (South South).


To be a Regulatory Agency with a clear focus on production of relevant Human Resources for Efficient Primary Health Care (PHC) Services in Nigeria.

Governing Health
with Integrity

CHPRBN: Pioneering health governance with unwavering integrity for a thriving community.


To improve standard of Community Health Care in Nigeria by Regulating, Teaching, Learning and Practice of Community Health.



Take the first step towards a healthier community

Downloadable Documents

0 k+

Community Health

0 +

Accredited Institutions

0 %

Success Rate


Do You Need Help?

Contact us at any CHPRBN nearest to you or submit a inquiry online.